Results: 11th Annual World AeroPress Championship

Sydney, Australia – Carolina Ibarra Garay of the USA won the 2018 World AeroPress Championship after an evening of intense competition in Sydney on November 17th. The judges agreed that Garay consistently brewed the tastiest cup in the competition using the official competition coffee, a Mugaya AA from Kenya. Xiaobo Zhang of China took second place and Evgeni Pinchukov of Belarus placed third.


The competition was the culmination of a season that saw 61 national championships and an unprecedented 79 regional competitions around the world. Nearly 1,000 people total attended the event at Commune.


The World AeroPress Championship is a fan-run competition that was founded in 2008 by coffee experts Tim Varney and Tim Wendelboe in Oslo, Norway and is now run by Varney and Tim Williams. It has grown from a small gathering of coffee enthusiasts to become a coffee event of worldwide interest. For further information, visit

Results: 11th Annual World AeroPress Championship
To Top