2016 United States AeroPress Coffee Brewing Championship Results – Atlanta, Georgia

Constance Adler - USAC 2016 winnersBen Jones of Ristretto Roasters (Portland, OR) won the 2016 United States AeroPress Championship on April 16th after a night of hot competition in Atlanta, Georgia. 40 competitors from around the United States, competing in heats, brewed coffee using AeroPress coffee makers for star judges Michael Phillips (2010 World Barista Champion), Matt Perger (2012 World Brewers Cup Champion), and Amanda Juris (World Barista Championship judge). The judges agreed that Jones consistently brewed the best-tasting cup.

Chattahoochee Coffee hosted the event at their Westside location at 790 Huff Rd. NW, where enthusiastic emcees Jared Truby and Chris Baca kept the energy level high. A carnival atmosphere prevailed with an Aerobie ring toss, free tattoos, and hot dogs and cotton candy on offer.

Jones also won a ticket to Dublin, Ireland to compete in the 2016 World AeroPress Championship to be held on the 23rd of June. Mike Cannon of Velton’s Coffee (Seattle, WA) took second place and Nelson Icenhower (Nashville, TN) of Slayer Espresso took third place.

The World AeroPress Championship, now in its ninth year, is a grassroots event which has grown to 50 national competitions worldwide. Past World Championships have taken place in Seattle, Rimini, Melbourne, Portland (OR), London, Milan, and Oslo (twice). The Championship was founded in 2008 by world-famous coffee experts Tim Wendelboe and Tim Varney in Oslo, Norway.


Elizabeth Chai, US AeroPress Championship Organizer
e: liz@aero.press
t: (404) 808-3733

Constance Adler, Marketing Coordinator, Aerobie, Inc.
e: constance@aerobie.com
t: (650) 493-3050

More information:

United States AeroPress Championship
Twitter: @USAeroPress

World AeroPress Championship

Aerobie, Inc., makers of the AeroPress coffee maker

Suggested Reading