Dean, CEO of Dean's Beans Organic Coffee, Awarded Nobel Prize for Business

The 2013 Oslo Business for Peace Honourees announced
Oslo and Doha, 24 April 2013— The Oslo Business for Peace Award is the highest form of recognition given to individual business leaders for fostering peace and stability through creating shared value between business and society. The world wide search for 2013 Honourees is a joint effort by ICC, UNDP and the Oslo based Business for Peace Foundation.
The five Honourees were announced simultaneously in Oslo, and during the X session of the 8th World Chambers Congress in Doha. The Honourees are selected by an independent committee consisting of Nobel Prize winners in peace and in economics. The Award will be presented to the Honourees at the Business for Peace Summit on May 14 in Oslo City Hall.
The Honourees are:

  • Mr. Dean Cycon, USA, founder and owner of Dean’s Beans Organic Coffee Company. He has worked for more than 25 years on development issues in indigenous communities, including coffee-producing villages around the world. He created Dean’s Beans to prove that businesses can promote positive economic, social and environmental change in developing countries, and be profitable at the same time. The company designs and funds people-centered development projects in coffee-producing areas in partnership with growers, and returns a percentage of profits to the growers as a “social equity premium”. Mr Cycon is a co-founder of Coffee Kids (a non-profit development group), and of Cooperative Coffees, the world’s first fair trade roaster’s cooperative.
  • Ms. Margaret Mussoi L. Groff, Brazil, Chief Financial Officer of ITAIPU Binacional, the world’s largest hydropower station in terms of power generation. She has been engaged in motivating female employees to seek professional development which resulted in an increase of female managers from 10 to 21 percent in nine years, in ITAIPU Binacional. Groff has also established ITAIPU’s policy and guidelines for gender equality based on the UN Global Compact Women’s Empowerment Principles Leadership Group, contributing to more gender-equal societies.
  • Ms. Connie Hasemann, Denmark, founder and CEO of Telehandelshuset AS.  Hasemann is a strong advocate for social change through sustainable business. With a mission to help disabled people show they are a valuable labour resource on equal standing with others, Hasemann established what is now one of the leading social enterprises in Denmark. Her drive and dedication break down barriers, and are appreciated across national borders. Connie Hasemann has developed a business model that demonstrates a new concept of comprehensive rehabilitation of disabled people, where the outcome is employment. This business model is both scalable and adaptable across sectors and national borders.
  • Mr. Arif Masood Naqvi, Pakistan, Founder and Group Chief Executive of The Abraaj Group, is a leading investor operating in Asia, Middle East and North Africa, Turkey and Central Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa and Latin America. In 2012, Naqvi was invited by the United Nations Secretary General Ban Ki-moon to become part of the United Nations Global Compact Board. His work in promoting responsible business practices by looking at the stakeholder, rather than exclusively a shareholder approach, is pioneering in the private equity industry.  The Abraaj Group devotes  the time of its employees and resources to mentoring social, cultural and economic entrepreneurs. The Abraaj Group, under the leadership of Naqvi, has partnered with best in class organizations focused on entrepreneurship and job creation, healthcare, education and community engagement
  • Ms. Nadia Al-Sakkaf, Yemen, the Chief Editor of Yemen Times. This is the country’s first and most widely read independent English-language newspaper, a leading voice in Yemen on issues of media, gender, development and politics. During the May 2011 leadership crisis in Yemen, Al-Sakkaf and her organization were vital in reporting the news and putting the political situation in context for international readers. Under Al-Sakkaf’s leadership, the Yemen Times has also created several publications — including publications to advocate for women’s participation in politics, such as Breaking the Stereotype, a book on Yemeni women’s experience as political candidates in elections.

The criteria for selection require that the nominees act as examples to the general public and inspire the business community by showing how to achieve success through ethical and responsible business practices. Honourees must have developed and cultivated successful international or national businesses in a manner that is recognized and appreciated in their communities, ideally by creating economic value in a way that also creates value for society.
The Business for Peace Foundation was established in 2007 to encourage the willingness of business leaders to engage with society as partners, in developing shared value and increasing trust between business and society. The foundation has promoted the concept of “businessworthiness” as a way to understand how business leaders can develop trust with communities, contribute to well-being, and create conditions for sustainable development. The five 2013 Honourees join their twenty predecessors in showing the way to a stronger partnership between business and society.
The Award Committee consist of Nobel Peace or Economics Prize Laureates: Prof. Muhammad Yunus, winner of the Nobel prize in Economics in 2006; and Prof. Michael A. Spence, winner of the Nobel prize in economics in 2001.
The Business for Peace Foundation is collaborating with the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), the City of Oslo, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP),  Oslo Chamber of Commerce, and International Herald Tribune (IHT).
More information about the programme  of the 2013 Oslo Business for Peace Summit can be found at:

Suggested Reading